Dungarpur – Rajasthan

dungarpur rajasthan2dungarpur rajasthandungarpur rajasthan1

Historical heritage of Dungarpur is very rich. Much research needs to be done to establish and confirm ancient history of Dungarpur. The history of Dungarpur is well documented after the arrival of Parmars of Malwa in this region.

The descendants of ruler of Mewar took control of this region in 12th century AD. Towards the end of 12th century, Samant Singh the elder son of the ruler of Mewar paved way for his younger brother Kumar Singh to become the ruler of Mewar. Samant Singh himself left claim to the kingdom of Mewar and came to this hilly region of Vagad and in the next century his successors took control of whole region of vagad.

But between 1183-84 Chalukya king of Gujrat Bhimdev II removed Samant Singh from Vagad and made Amritpal Dev the King of Vagad. Amritpal Dev belonged to the Bhartrapatta branch of Guhil dynasty.

Between 1209-1218 Jayat Singh somehow managed to regain control of some parts of Vagad lost by his father Samant Singh and then between 1218-1248 Sinhad Dev, son of Jayat Singh won the Capital Baroda by his own bravery. His son Jai Singh added Arthuna during 1248-1251. Rawal of Mewar Jaitra Singh sent Madan of Talaraksh family to help Rawal Jai Singh for the Arthuna Battle. Madan showed extraordinary bravery in that battle. His younger brother Devpaldev captured Galiyakot from Parmars during 1251-78. His son Veer Singh Dev captured the area known as Dungarpur today and surrounding areas also from Bhil Chieftan Dungariya Bhil.

The town of Dungarpur, the capital of the state, was founded towards the end of the 14th century by his descendant Rawal Bir Singh, who named it after Dungaria, an independent Bhil chieftain whom he had caused to be assassinated. After the death of Rawal Udai Singh of Bagar at the Battle of Khanwa in 1527, where he fought alongside Rana Sanga against Babar, his territories were divided into the states of Dungarpur and Banswara. Successively under Mughal, Maratha, and British Raj control by treaty in 1818, where it remained 15-gun salute state.