Jalore Rajasthan

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAjalorerajasthan1jalorerajasthan3jalorerajasthan2

Jalore is located at the foothills of SWARNAGIRI mountain just 140 Km from jodhpur and 340 Km from Ahmedabad. In the recent times the industrial growth in the district particularly in Jalore has been remarkable due to the world famous granite tiles and slabs. Presently there are 500 units producing high quality granite products. It earns good revenue for the state, therefore it is one of the key cities of the state. It has been tapobhumi (Land of Meditation) of Mahirishi Jabali, in the ancient time it was named after him Jabalipur, today it is known as Jalore which is a District Head quarter. Prathihar King Naresh Nagbhatt IInd expanded the ambit of his state from Arabian sea to Bay of Bengal . Songara Chouhans who were ready to die for their nation and its pride made it their Capital by fighting it out. The three main towns Jalore, Bhinmal and Sanchore were ruled by Prathihar, Parmar, Chalukya, Chouhan, Pathan Mughal and Rathore dynasties. Before independence Jalore was a part of Jodhpur province which was also known as Marwar. For better governance it was divided into three parganas. Jalore, Jaswantpura and Sanchore. When Rajasthan state come into the existence jodhpur province was inducted into it. When formation of districts were being done, Jalore also made its presence felt on the arena and it was also made a district.

Jalore’s old name was Jabalipur being the sacred glove of Mahirishi Jabali. By the passage of time the name of mountain Kanchangiri & Swarngiri were also frequently used as names of Jalore. It is clear from Kuvalyamana of Udhyothan suri that in 8th Century A.D. it was a prosperous town. At that time Prathihar king VatsaRaja was the ruler. Towards the end of 12th Century A.D. Parmars ruled here. Historians believe that the Jalore fort was built by Parmar rulers. It is known from a stone inscription of 1238 A.D. of fort that Parmar King Biral’s-queen Maludevi powered Gold win on Sindhu King. At that time from Abut to Umarkot all landmass was ruled by Parmar dynasty Chandan, Devraj, Aparajit,Vijjal, Dhasavarsh and Vishal ascended the throne.